General

A place for discussions about anything

Simon Harbord

edited July 2019 in General
It is with huge sadness that I write this post. Many of you will have had the privilege to have met Simon and anyone frequenting this group will have heard about him. Simon passed away on July 4th 2019 after a short illness. He leaves a wife Lyn, daughter and grandson.

Simon lived in Scotland for most of his life but he was a Englishman from the "north", the oil brought him here and he stayed. Simon and I were hugely different characters. I told him this to his face. but despite our differences (He was an artist trying to be an engineer and I was an engineer trying to be an artist) we were brought together by KAP, and I for one was enriched by his friendship.

He flew a kite like a pro and I have never seen a smoother operator. Kite launched, shot taken, and kite retrieved, ALL WHILST FENDING OFF THE PROPERTY OWNER/CUSTODIAN who was trying to STOP THE SHOOT. An absolute joy to see his masterclass in operation.

How many Altiods tins does one person really need?
(Answer one more than the Pentax Optios you own)

What music do you play on the KAPiSCO Bus?

I last met Simon 2 months ago, I assisted him in a Wet Plate collodian demonstration/workshop in Dunblane, Scotland, we shared a meal, talked like old men do and parted all to quickly for the last time. But I'll always remember October 2018 when I spent a day with him in his home at St.Cyrus, Aberdeenshire, we flew kites, took pictures and talked. We also did 2 portraits. I shot him in his 19th century studio with my 21century camera, and he shot me with my 21st century camera with his 19th century tin-type technology.

Bottom left, and clockwise: Flying the flag for KAP - a memorable last flight in Aberdeenshire. Passionate as ever whether KAP or Collodian, Tinplate picture of James the young pretender. See the old pretender here http://harbordstudio.myartsonline.com/
All images October 2018 and May 2019.