General

A place for discussions about anything

Picavet or Pendulum?

edited November 2013 in General
Hi, my name is Marty and i'm in 8th grade. I'm doing a research project on KAP and for part of it i'm doing a survey. Do you prefer Picavet or Pendulum and why?

Comments

• Hi, Marty!

Right now I use a Picavet, and with the exception of one experimental rig I only flew once, I've always used Picavet suspensions.

But...

I've been dinking around with a pendulum design I'm increasingly convinced is the direction I'd like to go. It's less portable than a Picavet and will require a slightly longer setup time to use. But it may provide a little better stability for the camera. Only time will tell. If I like it, I'll switch. If I don't I'll keep using a Picavet.

Welcome to KAP!

Tom
  • Picavet, as I'm new to KAP as well, and it seemed like this was the was to go. Extremely simple set-up, homemade with lightweight plywood and eye bolts. One for straight down shots worth GoPro, another were I can angle the camera using the case and fittings. Toying though of making a even simpler pendulum rig for same canera
  • I use both. Picavet easily gets tangled, pendulum has to be long to give similar stability, so is less portable. In case of emergency it could so happen (it in fact did to me) that picavet tangles with kite line and is hard to remove quickly. My next rig is going to be pendulum.

rgds
    \Seb
  • edited November 2013
    Hello Marty-

Glad to see you looking over our shoulder. Welcome ! I have been Kaping for about 7 years and have so
    far stuck with the picavet, which is not to say I haven't given some thought to several pendulums. When I first came
    across KAP, it seemed that picavet rigs were the norm, with not much mention of pendulum. From that limited experience,
    I would guess that many of us fell in to the same slot. But as a surveyor, you know you need a much greater sample than
    my simple opinion.